This producer from Barcelona goes by the name John Talabot, and he has been creating a stir with his unique brand of music. Coming after the success of previous singles and remixes since 2009, his debut album, ƒIN, was officially released earlier this month. Talabot’s deeply emotive sound stems from a mixture of influences, straddling (and skillfully broadening) the horizons of house, disco and synth-pop music.

The tracks on ƒIN feature steady, deep jungle beats accompanied by rising chords or upbeat melody, striking a perfect balance between light and darkness. The entire experience can be generally curiously uplifting, but it would be important to note, however, that Talabot does not think of his music as particularly happy, as he mentioned in an interview. Indeed, you do get a stronger feel of this darkness after riding out the first few rounds of listening.

Depak Ine, the first track on the album, sets the mood with a hint of balaeric that is transformed by undertones of melancholy and jungle beats that march along with the rest of the album.

Destiny is proving to be a favourite amongst listeners so far, with its calm layering of vocal samples weaving in-between chimes and a looped chord progression.

The first four tracks build a relatively intense atmosphere, culminating in the eerie, slow-mo climb that is Oro y Sangre, punctuated by shrill screams. All this comes before a sudden burst of positivity in the form of Journeys, which is sure to appeal to indie/dream-pop fans.

When The Past Was Present is another highlight of the album, with its rolling jungle rhythm and soaring synths, and perfectly-matched vocal sample.

So Will Be Now… (feat. Pional) is an excellent ending to the album that will definitely get listeners grooving, whether they’re in a club or at home. 

All in all, ƒIN is a thoroughly satisfying and also dancefloor-friendly album, and I’m eagerly awaiting the next dose of emotive, textured originality from John Talabot.

01. Depak Ine
02. Destiny feat. Pional
03. El Oeste
04. Oro y Sangre
05. Journeys feat. Ekhi
06. Missing You
07. Last Land
08. Estiu
09. When The Past Was Present
10. H.O.R.S.E.
11. So Will Be Now … feat. Pional 


Go back to the Midnight Shift homepage here.

By | SSS
Tags | House , Others , News , Reviews - Albums , Audio , Disco , Balaeric

Midnight Shift
2 hours of on-the-spot quality from KaSpar. Full tracklist and interview from this RBMA grad for the Midnight...
01:12 PM Apr 18 via Facebook

Midnight Shift
RT @BungleBeats: House Music: TERRENCE, Parker/SIMON HINTER - It Hurts (Midnight Shift France) 12
07:13 PM Apr 16 via Twitter for iPhone

Midnight Shift
New podcast from Siegen's Simon Hinter, who has just released on 'Shift 004' with Philogresz and TERRENCE PARKER...
07:06 PM Apr 16 via Facebook

follow me on twitter @ mnshift